Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


EAMBES establishes the Division of Fellow

by Martina Contin last modified Nov 04, 2011 04:08 PM

In occasion of the last Council meeting, the Councillor for Academic Affairs, Maria Siebes presented a proposal to activate the Division of Fellows, an essential component of the EAMBES Statute that was never initiated.

The EAMBES Council appointed Prof. Jos Spaan, former President of EAMBES and one of the leading figures in European Biomedical Engineering, as chairman of the Fellowship Committee and of the Division of Fellows Executive Committee.

The Division of Fellow of EAMBES aims to give a formal recognition to individuals who have distinguished themselves by identifiable contributions or accomplishments in Medical and Biological Engineering and Science.

As Initiator of the Fellows program, Prof. Spaan nominated three additional peers, who were approved by the EAMBES Council.  Thus, the first four Fellows of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering and Science are: Prof. Jos Spann, Prof. Niilo Saranummi, Prof. Sergio Cerrutti and Prof. Akos Jobbagy.  EAMBES publicly congratulates with Jos, Niilo, Sergio and Akos for this recognition of their impressive careers, and for their services to EAMBES and European biomedical engineering in general.

The founding fellows are now working on a set of procedural rules that will define how the EAMBES Fellows select new Fellows. 

Further details on the process will be communicated during the next General Assembly in March 14th 2011.

Document Actions